Blog, Internet.

Internet, Blog.

To kick things off, I’m going to give a brief introduction to myself and the origins of the guild.

I started playing World of Warcraft (WoW) shortly after the release of the Burning Crusade expansion. I’m not sure of the exact date, but it was approximately halfway through 2007. My friend who got me into the game was a pretty avid raider at the time, and naturally, once I reached level 70, I found myself also drawn into raiding. I had a few fleeting experiences with hardcore raiding guilds, the longest lasting about 3 months. However, the more I raided with these guilds, the more I realised that it was difficult to balance normal life (ranging from social life, to work, to university studies) with raiding life. This was compounded by the fact that I was raiding with guilds that were based in a timezone 2 hours behind my own, meaning that I was often up raiding till the small hours of the morning.

It was with this realisation, that, when my guild at the time disbanded, I decided to take a hiatus from hardcore raiding and focus more on aspects of my normal life. I kept playing the game in an amazing social guild that did the occasional no-pressure low end raids on the weekends, and I additionally led PUG raids here and there, but it was all very casual. My life was on track, all was well.

And then I started missing being on the bleeding edge. In those first few fleeting months when I hit level 70, I felt like I was on top of the game. I knew I had the skills, I was able to top DPS charts with mid-range gear, and while my guilds at the time weren’t the hottest property in terms of progression, they were far and away better than the little social Kara runs that I was doing with my social guild. I missed that feeling when you are one of the first guilds to get down a new boss that you’d been working on for weeks. I missed the structured raids and hotly contested DPS charts. I missed being challenged in my raiding. But by that point, I’d been raiding low end content for 6 months, and in terms of gear, I was completely unappealing to high end raid guilds. It seemed all was lost.

And then the Wrath of the Lich King expansion pack was announced, and I saw an opportunity. It coincided well with the end of my university studies, meaning I’d be a working boy. And it occurred to me that I would have considerably more time in the evenings for raiding, without the constant hassle of exams and assignments and projects. On top of that, a new expansion meant a clean slate in terms of gear. It was the perfect opportunity to slot back into hardcore raiding! I informed my social guild that I intended to start raiding again with the release of WotLK, and began the hunt for a new guild.

Then I struck a problem: I live in a timezone that only a handful of guilds cater to. The majority of guilds in my battlegroup are 2 hours behind (which is why I was in those guilds previously), and this was not going to be a feasible raid time for me, especially with the earlier starts mandated by working life (no more 11am starts at university!) – and I quickly discovered that there were no guilds raiding at my ideal raid time on my current realm. I had one of two choices: transfer to another server, or start my own raiding guild.

And so, on a whim, the next day I had a completed guild charter, and a one-man guild ready to be shaped. Ka Pai was born!

